ProTek R/C "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
[PTK-4500]

Average rating: 3.8 of 5 Stars!

ProTek R/C "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Vasiliy Kuzmenko - Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! Verified Owner Thursday, May 01, 2014
Finally i brought this box into business. Mods required are: - Shimming motormount - Trimming adj. brackets' thickness - Grinding some inner part of top plate in the area of rubber belt - Sanding some material from top of pedal mechanism (or whatever it called) That gave me required 8mm wheel uptravel. So this box is far from "95% ready" state
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Brian Rock - Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! Verified Owner Sunday, April 06, 2014
This has been a great starter box. The flywheel is a little small on our JQ nitro buggy, but I was able to shim up all of the internals in the starter box to bring the wheel up to compensate for the buggy. Very simple to do. I also bought the recommended ProTek 4S Lipo for the box. Trouble free combo!
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Jordan Anderson - Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! Verified Owner Monday, November 17, 2014
Good starter box, EXCEPT, the rubber wheel doesn't protrude far enough to reach the flywheel in a lot of cars. With my RC8.2 I was able to shim the motor and rubber wheel assembly up enough inside the starter box that it will just reach the flywheel. However, you can only shim it up a certain amount before the top plate of the starter box will interfere with the rubber wheel. Also, some of the connections broke while shimming so they had to be soldered. Fitting a 4S pack was fairly easy, but di[More…]
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Jeff Stroup - Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! Verified Owner Wednesday, August 27, 2014
I've got to say this is probably the best starter box on the market currently. The dual 775 motors perform just flawlessly and can turn over any motor whether its broken in or not. Another great feature is the push button to open the top door, no more wrenching on your bump box!!! Overall id recommend this box to anyone because of its quality, performance, and great price.
Robert Young - Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! Wednesday, June 04, 2014
I love this starter box!! I don't know why some say the flywheel is too low, just use washers and shim up the mount... You can manipulate anything to suit your needs... This box has tons of power and I have no complaints thus far. ProTek is great!!
Hong Shing Chan - Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! Verified Owner Wednesday, June 04, 2014
great starter box and I use it for my durango truggy. The only complaint is the wheel is too low. But I love that it came with the Dean plug !
Brandon Fritts - Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! Verified Owner Monday, May 19, 2014
The starter box works great! I did need to make a modification For the Tekno NB48, I had to shim the motor mount 2mm so the starter wheel would hit the fly wheel.
Eric - Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! Verified Owner Thursday, May 01, 2014
Good starter box for vehicles with very low flywheels, bad for many models (including Tekno NT48 NB48) that need a bit more clearance. I had to heavily modify it (including abandoning the adjustable pieces) to get the wheel to raise enough to hit the the flywheel. Good box, but only for very select vehicles.
James Atkinson - Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! Verified Owner Monday, November 10, 2014
Ive had troubles with mine one since Day 1, Had to raise the Starter Wheel so it could start my Durango Buggy, then I had to a failed motor from the pulley was too tight & recently I had another one went on me buy one of the motor wires had fallen off one motor and putting all of the power into one motor then that failed on me & today got my new motor in the mail and I tried to soilder the wire tabs to the motors then I realised that I had one of the wire the wrong way so I had to solve the prob[More…]
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Mike Bohn - Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! Verified Owner Friday, April 11, 2014
I absolutely love this starter box! twin motors & well built sold me. I am quickly becoming a fan of ProTek R/C, I love there products. Thanks Amain, you guyz are awesome!
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Austin Blair - Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! Friday, March 21, 2014
This starter box takes out the worry if my my motor is going to start, especially during break in of my motors. No hassle at all. Plus they are light weigh for traveling and durable too. A must have!
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1