Reviews for DuraTrax Onyx 245 AC/DC Dual Output Multi-Chemistry Balance Charger (5A/3S/40W x 2) [DTXP4245]

Displaying reviews 1 to 6 of 6
Result Pages: 1
ButterFu
Verified Owner
Sunday, Jul 1 2012 (about 2 years ago)
DuraTrax Onyx 245 AC/DC Dual Output Multi-Chemistry Balance Charger (5A/3S/40W x 2)
Very nice charger for beginners or just someone looking to charge and balance two separate batteries. Although it is a very basic charger. It still is very very nice for the price. Things I have found lacking are a discharge feature, and the ability to input many of the batteries settings, such as customizable charge amps. It uses four preset instead of selecting the correct 1C charge rate that is recommended. fortunately most of my batteries are 5000MAh so the preset 5amps is perfect. but for my bigger batteries i have to undercharge then, which certainly will not harm them. Also, the balance feature of this charger is nice no batteries have drifted yet. All in all a very nice charger for the price point. this time choosing the cheaper route will not lead to disappointment
Sal Polizzi
Verified Owner
Sunday, Jan 22 2012 (about 3 years ago)
DuraTrax Onyx 245 AC/DC Dual Output Multi-Chemistry Balance Charger (5A/3S/40W x 2)
Absolutely amazing!! Best charger yet. Charges both batts. at 5amps with no problems. I love how it tells you the voltage of the batteries this way you know about how much longer the charge will take. If your thinking about buying this go for it.
Mark Merry
Sunday, Apr 13 2014 (about a year ago)
DuraTrax Onyx 245 AC/DC Dual Output Multi-Chemistry Balance Charger (5A/3S/40W x 2)
Just thought I'd update my previous review. I was able to send the charge back to Duratrax and have it repaired.. However I had to buy another charger in order to continue racing.. Now charger is back we have used it for 1 race day cycling roughly 10 batteries thru it at 5amps on each side.. Charger worked as it should, however not going to give it full stars due to the hassle... If you're on a budget I'd recommend buying just be aware that the over heating is a common issue, but repairable if sent in..
Kaleb Hamby
Verified Owner
Monday, Jul 22 2013 (about a year ago)
DuraTrax Onyx 245 AC/DC Dual Output Multi-Chemistry Balance Charger (5A/3S/40W x 2)
This is a great basic charger. It is easy to use and will charge all of the common types of batteries. There are few things that need to be considered before you buy this charger though: 1) Only charger up to 3S batteries (1/8th scale guys need to be aware of this) 2) Some of the supplied charging leads use some really small wires. They work fine or have so far but I would have at least seen some 12GA wire at least on the deans plug 3) Does not store battery settings like most of the other chargers 4) Has limited charging rates (preset numbers: 1, 1.5, 3, and 5 I think) I almost always use 5 because I use 7.4V 5000mAh batteries I would buy this charger again because I was aware of all these things before I bought it so I was not surprised when I got it. For the money, you cannot beat having a charger capable of charging 2 batteries at up to 5amps a piece.
BJC
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Apr 3 2013 (about 2 years ago)
DuraTrax Onyx 245 AC/DC Dual Output Multi-Chemistry Balance Charger (5A/3S/40W x 2)
This charger does not have UL or CSA approval for an electrical device.
Jorge Arturo Jimenez
Verified Owner
Sunday, Jul 29 2012 (about 2 years ago)
DuraTrax Onyx 245 AC/DC Dual Output Multi-Chemistry Balance Charger (5A/3S/40W x 2)
I recently got this charger it is great, charge both batteries in a heart bit I am very satisfy with this item if you are thinking to buy it ,get it without a doubt highly recommended .!! Hace poco compre este cargador y es exelente carga dos baterias en corto tiempo estoy satisfecho con el, si esta pensando en comprarlo no lo piense mas vale la pena.!!