Reviews for HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio [HPI104240]

Displaying reviews 1 to 12 of 12
Result Pages: 1
Chris Schultz
Verified Owner
Thursday, Jun 23 2011 (about 3 years ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
Awesome truck, and my favorite MT. I broke a bulkhead on the track the 3rd time I ran it but replaced it and nothing has broken since. Wheel nuts are a bit soft so be cautious with that. And keep in mind that the larger capacity 3S batteries that are hard cased will be too fat for the battery boxes, so if you want to use those a mod is in order, but its easily done. Its a lot of leisure money to spend on a truck but if you like MTs you won't go wrong with the Flux. It's also of note that the 2.4ghz version also comes with upgraded diffs and a bit stronger servo. (SF-50 over previous SF-5)
Brandon Duhan
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Oct 6 2010 (about 4 years ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
WOW! this truck is AMAZING! stupid fast ,backflips on 4s and you can bash it, what more can you ask for? This truck on 4s in perfect for good bashing and standing backflips....go 6s and you in a whole different ball game, like 1 and 1/2 backflips and 60+ mph!!!!! Anyone who knows the reliability of the savage family will not be disapointed here and for those of wich this is there first savage, it's like no other vehicle, bash it like no other! forget about having to buy a part or two after a weekend of bashing, this truck is nearly bulletproof! The 2.4ghz system is good and gets good range. The transmiter is very light and only uses 6AA batteries. The receiver is very small and light. the steering servo is decent and gets good torque and range but the speed is a bit lacking. overall this truck is great for anything! My favorite basher and can make a decent racer also. My setup: -1offrc.com 5mm XL conversion -Pro-Line 40 series bow-ties -Axial oversized beadlocks -RPM a-arms (all around) -HPI sway bar kit -Tunigy 5000mah 40c 2s batteries (x2)
Moises M.
Verified Owner
Tuesday, May 3 2011 (about 4 years ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
BEST RC MONSTER TRUCK EVER!!!!!! I love this monster truck. The power it has makes my other monster trucks look like a snails. The flux HD is very beefed up. After many crashes from its uncontrollable POWER, the Flux HD is sill working; nothing is borken yet.
Jacob Carley
Verified Owner
Thursday, Mar 17 2011 (about 4 years ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
got mine yesterday and wow. first 1/8th scale ive owned but the structure is incredible. very thick, heavy components. it is buit like a tank. And can go very fast. the best of both worlds. i havent had it long enough for durability, but if its like i have heard, it will be just fine. completely happy so far. a definite must if you have the cash and looking to upgrade from something smaller.
Andrew Demory
Friday, Apr 30 2010 (about 5 years ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
I picked up my FLUX last week and so far it has been great! I've owned a few of the nitro savages and none of them even compare to this brushless setup. as soon as i opened the box and picked it up and looked at everything on it, i could tell that it was made for some serious abuse. I contemplated between the e-revo brushless and the flux for a few months and finally decided to get the flux because i am a basher more than a racer. although both trucks are great right out of the box, the flux is built way better for abuse compared to the revo. The first time I ran the flux, the pinion gear came loose. So I loctited the pinion back down and so far nothing else, but you'll have to expect screws to come loose with a truck that has all this power. I've only ran SMC 5400 MaH 2 cell lipos so far and the flux on 4s is WAY faster than any nitro savages I've had. I haven't yet experienced with the 3 cell lipos yet but i can't wait until i can. I would HIGHLY recommend installing the wheelie bar as soon as you get it because this thing will wheelie at half throttle in an instant on 4s, so i can't imagine running it on 6s. The paint scheme is amazing. I would estimate the run time around 25 to 30 minutes on the batteries i've had, although it would be significantly shorter if you were doing high speed runs. I've read that the run time is 11-12 minutes when doing high speed runs. Anyways, my overall opinion of the savage flux w/ 2.4 radio is SUPERB! And the fact that you can link the ESC to your computer on castle link is astounding. You can change anything on the esc and you can also see a graph of all of your runs, which in my opinion is very similar to a dyno sheet for a real car. GET IT GUYS!!!! You won't be disappointed!!!
Вади Васи
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Oct 7 2014 (6 months ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
ordered model you have!!!come to Russia!!!I love them!!!thank you and your site!
mike plante
Verified Owner
Monday, Apr 29 2013 (about 2 years ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
i love my truck! fast and crazy! a bit hard to handle but i'm still sorta new to such power so not the trucks fault at all, it goes very well with my Vorza too, its lots of fun doing back flips off the fence in my backyard and anything else like my trees . this one is going no ware soon...it has a place in my collection forever if i can help it.
Erik Nelson
Verified Owner
Thursday, Mar 8 2012 (about 3 years ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
This is a very good and durable monster truck. It has some things that will break but can be easily upgraded.
Steven Spence
Tuesday, Mar 31 2015 (4 weeks ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
In my opinion this is the #1 ULTIMATE BASHER PERIOD!!! I said Basher E Revo BL fans before you get started. I promise you this BEAST is way faster then what you can see on Youtube, you got to see her perform in person to get the full effect. My former#1 Monster Truck was the Stampede 4x4 VXL, and I can say The Savage Flux HP is way faster then the Stampede even on 3s. On 6s I thought with an almost 10-12 pound weight difference between the two that naturally the Flux would be slower, but hell no itís not even close. I had a 70 yard race against an Jato 3.3 and TMaxx 3.3 and crushed them both with 75% throttle and finishing 10 feet ahead, they couldnít believe it, I was just standing there with a big smile on my face! And to make it so bad that is with the stock gearing setup with the lowest motor timing settings in the Blur/MMP ESC simply incredible!! I noticed by doing that Iím getting longer run times a cooler motor, and keeping all wheels on the ground up to full throttle. I personally donít care about back flips, but its nice to have the option if I want to switch it up one day. I changed to a Traxxas receiver and TQI transmitter because it has way more setup and adjustments that you can tweak to set her up how you like for example throttle expo. Everybody is right about her being top heavy and rolling over a lot. I dropped the suspension and added a sway bar kit and saw a huge improvement. She definitely rolls over much less and is a lot more controllable in turns. I personally only run her on 6s and have never put 4s in. The one thing that really surprised me was the run times. With twin 5800mah 11.1 60c Zippy Lipos I am only getting 20 min run times, I couldnít believe it. I do mash the throttle but 20 min, that was disappointing. I highly recommend looking at the battery compartment specs and getting the biggest lipos you can fit. You will need to loctite the slipper clutch screw, when it heats up the screw wonít stay tight because of the heat generated and the metal expanding . Durability has been pretty high I have had some wicked crashes and have only broken one front arm. You will also need to upgrade the drive gear after only 6 bashes I noticed the gear is already half worn through Iím sure on 4s it would last longer. But personally I didnít spend that kind of money to be on 4s!! This beast is definitely not for inexperienced newbieís. If you want to ride and tame this wild bucking Ultimate Basher, experience and proper setup is a must. NOW LETS GO BASHING!!!
Gayle Roy
Verified Owner
Sunday, Jan 18 2015 (3 months ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
Very fast truck! Customer support here is awesome! My 14 year old son loves this truck. He hasn't driven it a lot due to weather but when he has its mean! Would recommend if your looking for a very fast truck!
Trevor
Tuesday, Jul 24 2012 (about 2 years ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
What a great truck! The only things I've had to do to it so far is use some thread lock on the pinion gear set screw and buy new wheels because this thing is a savage alright. I have rounded out the inside of the hex on the wheels that came with it and the ones off of my Savage 4.6. Buy some extra 17mm hex wheels that aren't HPI ones when you buy this truck. All around great truck and well worth the money.
Nathan Purdum
Tuesday, Sep 6 2011 (about 3 years ago)
HPI Savage Flux HP 1/8 Scale RTR Monster Truck w/2.4GHz Radio
when i got my truck(did not buy from here) the truck had parts that had fallen off in the box, fixed the parts and on the first run i got smoke from the slipper clutch, replaced both diffs all the a arms, slipper clutch, sper gear, shock caps and last and finally the transmission. thats when i sent it back to hpi all parts that "i broke" was only in a30 min time period. i own a 25 and it does about 50mph and is a tank i have taken it off a 40 foot jump and did not break a thing, the flux was broken out off the box and cant handle any abuse. i hope hpi will fix the problem for me but customer support did not really want to talk to me and did not seam to care. buy at your own risk i guess and i hope you get a good running truck.