Reviews for Hudy Universal Exclusive Set-Up System (1/10 Off-Road) [HUD108905]

Displaying reviews 1 to 6 of 6
Result Pages: 1
Brandon Collins
Tuesday, Jan 4 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Hudy Universal Exclusive Set-Up System (1/10 Off-Road)
Just a heads-up for other buyers. On the box it says "Alu nuts included FREE"... Which you would assume would be the "Alu nuts" (their words) used to mount the camber plates onto the hubs of the car (108960), but they aren't. They are simply referring to the little mount screws that hold the 4 assemblies together. The kit does NOT include the thumb screws needed to actually use this thing with a buggy. I called RC America and described what was advertised vs. what I got, and they didn't care one bit... Thanks for nothing, RC America, Xray, and Hudy.
RogerM
Verified Owner
Thursday, May 5 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Hudy Universal Exclusive Set-Up System (1/10 Off-Road)
Two words... Awesome&Pricey. Incredibly well built and very easy to use. Instruction book is well written. Note: You do need some blocks for the chassis to rest on while you make the camber/Toe changes. I did not buy the $50 partical board set up board. I just use the tool on a flat machine tabletop (I use a Delta table saw table) - Accuracy to 1/2 degree (camber, caster, Toe....). You can watch the scales cahnge as you rotate the turnbuckles with a wrench. Makes setting up the car/trucks a clear, repeatable, documented process. I a=have also used the RPM plastic Camber/Toe tools... but not any more. I have both the 1/8 scale and 1/10 scale versions of this tool. I love them both. The included nuts are just reqular HW store fare. Toss them. The nice Aluminim nuts that match the tool must be bought separately for ~$25. I agee with the previous poster, that the nice nuts shoujld have been included but only the regular HW store item.
N P
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Mar 10 2015 (8 weeks ago)
Hudy Universal Exclusive Set-Up System (1/10 Off-Road)
I only have 1/10 off road buggies, so I can't speak for truck owners, but after years of eyeballing and using other guages, this is the worth every cent. Yes there is a cheaper alternative, and after reading many reviews and comparisons, I'll definitely pay this much for this product again. Just a tip for B5 (or similar buggies) owners, you'll need a spacer for the rear axles...there's not enough thread on the shaft to lock in the rear side plates (spacers included are too thick and intended for another use). No big deal. I just used an old shock piston and drilled the centre hole to suit my axle. It was an eye opener to see how inaccurate my set up was. Now my cambers, toe and steering are more accurate. If I could afford it, maybe I should have purchased the setup board as well. Might be smoother to work on than my work bench...
Scott Wallace
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Jul 23 2014 (9 months ago)
Hudy Universal Exclusive Set-Up System (1/10 Off-Road)
Toe plate is too narrow for Stadium Truck as well. When I asked Hudy's customer service what I needed to make it work for ST they couldn't give me an answer. Not impressed.
Il Pete
Sunday, Mar 30 2014 (about a year ago)
Hudy Universal Exclusive Set-Up System (1/10 Off-Road)
Pricey but nicely built and accurate. The top plate will not work for a short course truck, truck is to wide, the 1/8 scale top plate will work with this kit and fits short course. Highly recommend the wheel nuts so not to scuff finish with serated nuts...
David McEwen
Verified Owner
Thursday, Dec 5 2013 (about a year ago)
Hudy Universal Exclusive Set-Up System (1/10 Off-Road)
This Hudy set-up system IS expensive, but the quality is top notch. My kit did include the aluminum nuts for assembly, so all good there. I would recommend getting the Wheel nuts (HUD108960). You can use the nuts from your vehicle, but typically wheel nuts are serrated and considering the $$$ paid for this kit, it would suck to scuff up the finish on the aluminum uprights. The system works very well and I would definitely recommend it. Can you get by with a regular camber gauge and toe-in gauge? Sure, but this system is dead on and will last forever. If you typically don't mind spending money on quality tools, then this is a no brainer.