Reviews for Losi Mini 8IGHT-T 1/14 Scale 4WD Electric Brushless Truggy RTR w/2.4GHz & AVC [LOS01000]

Displaying reviews 1 to 9 of 9
Result Pages: 1
E
Wednesday, Jul 30 2014 (about a year ago)
Losi Mini 8IGHT-T 1/14 Scale 4WD Electric Brushless Truggy RTR w/2.4GHz & AVC
Disappointed with this car. Losi seems to have forgotten that you can't make an RTR (the buggy) 50% heavier and leave everything else the same. This thing is slow. I never tried it on 2s, because even on 3s it is sluggish. It breaks just about every single time I drive it, and I have had a glamis UNO for months (some people said it was easily breakable) that hasn't needed as much work as this thing has in two weeks. Ballcups pop like nothing. The plastic hinge pin mounts are terrible (some smaller scale losi cars have metal hinge pin holders) The truggy is simply too heavy for the stock electronics and drivetrain. I have upgraded the power system to my liking after spending another few hundred (Mamba Max Pro, Neu Motor 1110, Steel Spur and Pinion, etc) but now I have to be careful with the throttle or it'll blow out the differential ring gear. I was really excited to start racing it but I can't get through two qualifiers without the dog bones bending beyond repair or snapping altogether. The upgrade CV shafts have been out of stock for a month now with an ETA still weeks away. The dog bones are out of stock everywhere I look. My servo stopped centering a few weeks ago so I had to steal a savox from the tail of one of my 450 helis. No r/c is perfect, but on all the other kits I've had (RTR or not) I've only needed to upgrade a handful of things at most before I have a reliable machine that I can count on. So far this has been a never ending money pit.
trevor steeves
Monday, Sep 29 2014 (10 months ago)
Losi Mini 8IGHT-T 1/14 Scale 4WD Electric Brushless Truggy RTR w/2.4GHz & AVC
Great little Truggy. Jumps and runs well. Would defintly recommend it. For the price you can't go wrong
Bryan Jones
Sunday, Aug 24 2014 (about a year ago)
Losi Mini 8IGHT-T 1/14 Scale 4WD Electric Brushless Truggy RTR w/2.4GHz & AVC
Bought this little guy over the weekend and raced it Saturday night winning all the way.. First thing was to pull the gyro as it messes toommuchnwith throttle and steering despite supposedly being turned off. I installed a airtronics receiver, bound it, calibrated and dropped it on the track with 2s 2200mah battery and loved it right off the bat. Stock setup liked the indoor clay at my local track. 4 minutes came off hot, 190.. Pulled the tires off and went with some worn dirt webs, temps dropped big time and battery draw went from 1300mah at 4 minutes to 1130 after 6 minutes.. Fun truck to run and with several folks locally buying them, we had a class of mini 8ights which was a blast. Buy buy buy.. After three races only issue I had was a ball cup pop off. No biggie...
Gerald Whitaker
Tuesday, Jun 24 2014 (about a year ago)
Losi Mini 8IGHT-T 1/14 Scale 4WD Electric Brushless Truggy RTR w/2.4GHz & AVC
I'm a big Losi fan, but this little guy needed a bit more attention to detail before shipping. I'm replacing the ring gear after running it twice. The engine mount is a new design that combines the endbell and Motor mount into 1 piece that screws into the motor can.There is no set screw and mine came loose. Use loctite folks! The ball link cups are very weak just like on the original mini 8ight. Use the RPM ones. On the plus side, AVC is great and it handles better in the air than the original mini 8ight. Losi: This is a better Vehicle than the predecessor, but you need to get your qc folks to follow drivetrain assembly closely for awhile.
ALuke
Tuesday, Jun 24 2014 (about a year ago)
Losi Mini 8IGHT-T 1/14 Scale 4WD Electric Brushless Truggy RTR w/2.4GHz & AVC
This is my first r/c in almost 20 years and also my first 4wd. Initially, I planned to take the entire vehicle apart prior to its first run but of course could not wait. The vehicle ran well w/ the stock NiMh pack and had zero issues. BUT......the Onyx 2s 2amp(2000mah) was a different story. My time away from the hobby plus the fact I've never taken to a track leaves my expertise level quite low. However, if you have ever built a kit or have the know-how to disassemble the vehicle, DO IT before running a lipo pack. 5 minutes into my lipo battery the vehicle (much quicker than NiMh, btw..) started making a grinding noise followed by a high pitch squeal. Issue was a completely stripped spur. After disassembly to replace the spur, I also found the slipper to be tightened fully. Not good. Other minor issues include a ball cup coming off after a roll over and the AVC makes the vehicle a little twitchy. Properly setting the esc and transmitter helped a bit and the ball cup snapped right back on w/o further issue. Proper setup (not out of the box) is definitely a must if you plan on running lipo packs in this vehicle. Even a quick check of the spur/pinion mesh I would highly recommend prior to your first run. Check the slipper too. Since the repairs I've done, this little truck is a rocket on 2s lipo. Top end is not what it could be after replacing the stock 16t pinion w/ a 14t and keeping the new spur gear at 62t. Probably 35mph but more pull from lower speeds. If you want speed, I'm sure this truck will provide just that using a smaller spur and 3s lipo. All in all, a fun little truck that has potential to be a tough bashing truck or precision track machine; provided you are willing to spend some time on setup. My opinion, its not RTR w/ lipo batteries but again, just running the stock pack won't push the truck to extremes. Wouldn't recommend as a "beginner" level RTR but would, however, recommend to those who don't mind putting some time and patience into the truck.
Alex Fera
Verified Owner
Monday, May 19 2014 (about a year ago)
Losi Mini 8IGHT-T 1/14 Scale 4WD Electric Brushless Truggy RTR w/2.4GHz & AVC
I just received my car two days ago and love the handling of it. It feels very well planted and the out-of-the-box tires are surprisingly grippy. The only problem that I encountered was that the steering links pop off fairly easily. It is a rocket on a 3 cell lipo and can clear any jump on a 1/10 scale track.
Mike Walling
Verified Owner
Saturday, Aug 23 2014 (about a year ago)
Losi Mini 8IGHT-T 1/14 Scale 4WD Electric Brushless Truggy RTR w/2.4GHz & AVC
This thing is a P.O.S. Small gravel gets under the spur gear cover and eats away the spur gear. On our 5th gear set in a month... STAY AWAY FROM THIS GARBAGE DESIGN!!! waste of $300
Jeff Benzon
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Jun 10 2014 (about a year ago)
Losi Mini 8IGHT-T 1/14 Scale 4WD Electric Brushless Truggy RTR w/2.4GHz & AVC
Disappointed... The mini 8ight buggy is so fantastic and this does not hold up to that standard. The servo refuses to center after turns, making handling difficult. The pinion/spur mesh was way too tight as shipped causing the motor to overheat. Right out of the box, mine had drive train issues where something is slipping. Took apart the entire drive train and rebuilt and still getting severe grinding somewhere. Also, the low end response is poor and getting lots of "cogging" for lack of a better term. It could just be an isolated issue with my truck, but it is hardly drivable. I buy/build 5-6 cars per year and this had the worst issues out of the box that I have ever seen. Bummed out...
conald koontz
Sunday, May 25 2014 (about a year ago)
Losi Mini 8IGHT-T 1/14 Scale 4WD Electric Brushless Truggy RTR w/2.4GHz & AVC
SAY I CAN'T WAITE EATHER.I ALREADY GOT THE MINI 8 BUGGY,WITH A LITTEL UP GREAD.I LOVE MY MINI 8.AND I KNOW AM GONE LOVE THE TRUGGY.COME ON WITHE IT LOSI,COME ON WITHE LOSI.MAN COME ON WHITE IT......YES SIR,AM GOING TO GO AHEAD AND GIVE IT A RATING OF *****.AND.WHY! WELL BECAUSE THE MINI 8 I HAVE IS SO STRONG, MY 3 YEARS OLD DOUGHTER GOT A HOLD OF IT AND RAN IT IN TO A CURVE ALL THAT HAPPEING WAS THE FRONT SHOCK CAME LOOSE.NO BIG DEAL.THAT WHY AM GIVE IT MY PERSONLY 5*.ALSO RATING IT GOOD.