Reviews for Novak Timbuk2 "Wraith Edition" Brushless ESC/Ballistic Brushless Motor System (13.5T) [NOV3224]

Displaying reviews 1 to 6 of 6
Result Pages: 1
Edward J Penney
Verified Owner
Saturday, Jan 5 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Novak Timbuk2 "Wraith Edition" Brushless ESC/Ballistic Brushless Motor System (13.5T)
This thing burnt up after 5 runs on a trail ESC and Motor almost lost my rig.I will Never buy NOVAK again.
justin sherwood
Verified Owner
Sunday, Jan 20 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Novak Timbuk2 "Wraith Edition" Brushless ESC/Ballistic Brushless Motor System (13.5T)
if your looking for a good crawler esc keep looking, the bec burnt up! you cannot hook up the bec w/o unhooking the hot off the esc.. contrary to the directions... the hill brake will flip the rig, which is bad wile going down steep hills. and the reverse is glitchy, some times works sometimes not at all, sometimes jirks! or best of all is wot! for small input, very unpredictable. it says it has hill brake, and drag brake, all i know is if you let off the gas it flips! so i guess some were the drag happens, but its news to me! must have to pic one or the other i hear the momba max pro has adjustable brag break, to slow rig then set like a vice grip w/o flipping rig! this will be my next esc, or a tekin ,still reserching.... very disappointed in this one......
chas saulsbury
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Dec 10 2014 (7 months ago)
Novak Timbuk2 "Wraith Edition" Brushless ESC/Ballistic Brushless Motor System (13.5T)
Hello, i thought i'd write a review of this esc/motor combo that i've used on a couple projects. there are a couple negatives reviews out here and i think they are way off the mark. first off i am running the timbuk2 in a wraith with an old but decent lipo (5000 mah, 60c) and an airtronics radio system. with the stock gearing you can creep along super smoothly allowing precise wheel placement in the rocks. at full throttle there is plenty of wheel speed to spin the tires on loose surfaces, or clear mud from the tire tread, and just enough speed to clear little jumps and what not. the esc has a ton of tuning that you can do without having to link to a computer. for the wraith the drag brakes need to be turned down to 20-30% to prevent flipping the truck over when stopping or coming down steep hills. also turing the brake epa down on the radio smoothed out reversing. all in all a great product that has never let me down over miles and miles of nasty rock crawling and racing. thank you--chas
Kevin Mooney
Saturday, Nov 9 2013 (about a year ago)
Novak Timbuk2 "Wraith Edition" Brushless ESC/Ballistic Brushless Motor System (13.5T)
Tried 2 different Novak combos, one overheated and won't work at all, the timbuk2 works fine but has no wheel speed at all, stock axial esc with 27t motor blows the upgraded Novak combo away. My advice is it forget Novak, go with castle and tekin if you want easy to use and easy to program components, wasted several hundred on Novak stuff that does not work
Lynn Haas
Sunday, Mar 31 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Novak Timbuk2 "Wraith Edition" Brushless ESC/Ballistic Brushless Motor System (13.5T)
I purchased the novack and spent $600.+ in upgrades after the recommended upgraded novack system and It sits because I lost all the speed it used to have and is not really a crawler. Its pretty but thats all.
Josh
Wednesday, Feb 27 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Novak Timbuk2 "Wraith Edition" Brushless ESC/Ballistic Brushless Motor System (13.5T)
Good all around setup on my Wraith. Used mostly for crawling. Has a heavy brake which may not be ideal for light or ultra lighten setups but with my weighted and fully upgraded Wraith its perfect. I did take the advice I saw on forums to wire in UBEC with the power between the ESC and the receiver cut so it runs 5A not at 7A. Not terribly impressed with the UBEC it comes with but until I see and issue I keep running it. Not linkable to a computer for programming is the only negative I have for this product. No heat issues so far on 14/87 pinion/spur and 30c 2s lipo 5000+ mah. (full throttle 2.5 mph max).