Reviews for ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo [PTK-100SS]

Displaying reviews 1 to 20 of 23
Result Pages: 2
Chris Elena
Verified Owner
Thursday, Feb 27 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
Let me start by saying that Amain hobbies customer service is top notch, and exactly why an occasional bad product experience does not stop me from doing business with them even though ProTek is their brand. Like most people, I ordered this servo as an upgrade from the RTR servo (for my son), the price is right and the specs are too good to be true for the price point. I have used lots of ProTek stuff before and I am usually very happy with their products. However, these servos are hot garbage, plain and simple. I will say that we are off road track racers only, no bashing or any kind of abuse. First servo lasted about two races, then got a mind of its own and started wandering and glitching really bad, sometimes all the way from lock to lock on its own. It would constantly lose center also. This cost my son what was going to be his first Amain win ever as it happened half way through his race. I sent it back and they gave me another one. I installed it and my son ran two packs through it until it literally just died. No response at all, just dead to the world. I did extensive troubleshooting and verified it was the servo. So they sent me another one. This third servo lasted about one race before it started glitching exactly like the first one did. Every time they sent me a brand new servo, so this was three different failed units in a row. Every time I did extensive trouble shooting to rule out radio or related issues. It was just three bad servos in a row, plain and simple. I would be ok with one bad servo, maybe even two, but three in a row is a statement about a serious product issue in my book. Love ProTek products, like their batteries for example, but I would stay away from their low grade servos until they get out a wicked hot iron to get the wrinkles in this product out. I replaced it with a XP servo that cost about $100 and have not had a single problem 10 full races with heats later and counting.
Coy G
Verified Owner
Saturday, Feb 1 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
In addition to my 3 star review from a few days ago, I have now given these servos a 1 star. If I could they wouldn't even get a 1 star review. After receiving the new servo that was replaced by A Main, it was installed and ran up and down the street for a couple of tanks, no issues. I was doing some prechecks before heading out to the track and it started glitching again. No idea why. So I contacted A Main and the rep on the other end told me that a BEC would clear up the glitching. Not so fast, the BEC would stabilize the input voltage if I were running Lipos for the receiver, but I'm not. I'm running a 6.0V NiMH battery. Sure it gets a bit over 6V when fully charged, but what battery doesn't. The theory of the BEC doesn't pan out. Needless to say, 2 servos down and my buggy still sits on the bench. There goes another 10 days of A Main looking at a servo that they know is very substandard. I have a $20 Tactical metal gear servo that has lasted longer in my buggy than these 100SS servos have. For those of you wondering, NO, the servo hasn't even made it to the track yet. Just some running on the street to get a workable tune on the engine. First one burnt up, now this one won't stop glitching.
Raymond Maldonado
Tuesday, Apr 2 2013 (about 2 years ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
The Protek 100SS I use them in my Synergy E7 and N2 FBL Velocity Protek my best 100SS
Todd Stevenson
Verified Owner
Friday, Sep 6 2013 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
I have both the 100S and 100SS. Onc in my Blitz ESE and the others in my Blitz flux. I love both the servos and would definitely buy again, but would probably upgrade to the 130 series. Thanks A Main !!!
Ted Burns
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Apr 30 2013 (about 2 years ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
This is a great servo for the price! Its specs are top notch! The servo is extremely fast and has plenty of torque. I know that if I mess up it is because of the driving, not the servo. It doesn't glitch and runs cool. The only downside is that it is a tad noisy, but is hardly noticeable on the track. Great servo!
logan downer
Verified Owner
Tuesday, May 26 2015 (2 days ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
I'm running this in my TLR 22t 2.0 and I don't see why anybody would need more than this. I've begun switching all of my servos over to Protek from Radiopost and these things are just awesome. Cost effective, perform well, look nice in the vehicle. I have zero complaints about my Protek servos and for the price the 100ss cannot be beat!
Austin Schaeffer
Verified Owner
Sunday, Feb 15 2015 (3 months ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
Awesome affordable servo thats very tough and fast! used this in a 2wd SC truck and trust me i took some crappy landings, never once did it fail
Steve Quanrud
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Dec 16 2014 (5 months ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
I'm writing this review in December 2014. I bought one of these to use in my 1/10th scale buggy in November of 2013 and with over a year of racing with an Avid bellcrank set (eliminates the servo saver) I have had zero issues with this servo. I've nose dived in to the ground with the wheels turned, smacked walls off-camber and generally every kind of crash that is VERY hard on steering servos. It's still running strong, never glitches and I never have to re-center or adjust trim. Would buy again.
Cooper
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Aug 27 2014 (9 months ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
Awesome servo for the money. Compared to my Savox servos, they are very comparable in speed. Been running for over a month, and haven't had a problem yet!
Londeito
Verified Owner
Friday, Jul 4 2014 (10 months ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
I bought 2 of these servos for my 1/10th on road.. I installed one for steering the other for throttle.. The steering started to glitch b4 I even got the car started, locking from side to side ..the throttle n brake went after about 5 or 6 practice days. I am an international buyer so it's kind of a let down after the wait for shipping.. I put in a Savox and haven't had any problems since.. Judging from other comments the servos just seem to b (sorry AMain) trash.. Unless your lucky enough to get a good one.. Like AMain as a business tho.. Service is top notch👍.
Bradley Griffis
Verified Owner
Monday, Apr 14 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
Bought 2 of theses, one quit. One still works. It was a awesome servo until it died. The one that is still working I am happy with, but every time I use it I'm expecting it to die like the first one.
Charlie R Candergart
Verified Owner
Saturday, Mar 29 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
I've had this servo for quite a while. Currently using it in my Xray XB4 2wd and it has never failed me. It is definately fast enough for competition class driving. I am used to Savox servos but wanted to try this servo just to get a feel for other brands. I would probably only use this servo with 1/10-scale cars where speed is more important than sheer power. The only Rather small downside is that it is limited to a maximum of 6 volts which means that I cant use more than 6 volts for any other device that recieves its power through my reciever. But as I stated, this is just a small downside. The servo even looks cool with its blue aluminium center part. Best Regards. The Crazy Swede
Kevin Collins
Verified Owner
Saturday, Mar 1 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
The first one I ordered and installed in my Slash 2WD. While at the practice track, it started glitching, and finally turning to one side and freezing there. The local folks sold me a glitch buster capicitor to try and solve the problem. Long story short is it didn't fix the problem. I did the inspections on the car to see if binding was occuring and found none. I contacted A Main and they had me send it back to them for repair (I was out of spare servos at the time so I there was no running rc's for a few days). They ended up sending me a new one which is good customer service, but I don't know if I would order another Protek or not, kind of on the fence about it. I'd probably go with a Spectrum 6040 on the next one.
James Shaver
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Feb 26 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
I just installed this servo in my t4 and this servo is very quick and quiet I am very impressed with what I got for $50 dollars!!!!
daniel howard
Verified Owner
Saturday, Feb 15 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
Great servo from the price! I've been running this in my custom works pro-comp outlaws for a few months now. Very happy!
Donnie Partipilo
Verified Owner
Saturday, Jan 11 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
I bought one these servos and it didn't last ten seconds! It died
Justin G
Verified Owner
Saturday, Jan 4 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
Very surprised by these servos. Bought one for my B4.2 at first to try them out and WOW! I have used other high end servos and I felt like I was getting all the same features as a $100-150 dollar servo. Great specs, great performance. I have bought two more since the initial one and all of them have been running great. Pretty quiet too which is more and more uncommon in digital servos. I am hoping they last because I love their performance now.
Moe Tekno
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Jan 1 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
I have 1 of these in my b44.1 and a futaba bls451 in my b4.2, I notice a big difference in speed with the protek it is fast (although it is kinda loud, I can't hear it unless I'm in a quiet room)and the torque is just as advertised I was goin to use in my 2wd but now I will leave in my 4wd because I like its performance more than the futaba so far. GREAT PRICE FOR PERFORMANCE.
Dan Wilcox
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Dec 25 2013 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
It is quieter then a Savox at idle but the spline shaft started to walk in the case only after an hour of using it .....
Benjamin M Crespo
Verified Owner
Sunday, Dec 22 2013 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC 100SS Standard Digital "Super Speed" Metal Gear Servo
I would not recommend this servo ran in my RC8 and it burnt out Amain hobbies excelent customer service replaced it so I decided to run it in my hpi RS4 I figured less stress on the brand new replacement servo and the same result the servo burnt out. The steering will give out a little at a time or just turn in one direction and then burn out not worth it. I appreciate amain for there above excelent customer service but protek servos do not stand up trash I would never order another protek servo garbage