Reviews for ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2) [PTK-8510]

Displaying reviews 1 to 19 of 19
Result Pages: 1
GPG
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Nov 26 2013 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
UPDATE: I had previously rated this 5 stars. Unfortunately, one of the buttons on my charger stopped working after being used for less than 50 charge cycles!!! This seems to be a common problem- read the other reviews here. The storage function also stopped working properly, had to stop it and re-start. I hate to think what would have happened if I had just let it keep running!? I'm very disappointed after having paid $170 (plus substantial shipping in my case). It failed just outside warranty too, so I've been told no as far as replacement/ repair goes. Hard to believe it can't last more than a year, when I see cheap, crappy little 'imax' knock-off chargers going strong after 5 years!!! amain needs to ensure the manufacturing quality for all their brands is better than this. Clearly quality control is minimal. Bad quality ruins reputation very quickly. The Protek brand, like lots of brands out there, are just re-branded, cheap chinese goods. Compare the Hitec, iMax and SkyRC stuff- its identical but for colours and logos.
Andrew Trask
Verified Owner
Saturday, Nov 22 2014 (5 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Pure garbage.... I know 3 people who have had them, myself included... All have had the same issue... Buttons stop working. One of my buddies is sending back his 2nd one for the same exact issue... Called AMain and they are willing to replace but sucks to be without a charger for at least a couple weeks. Don't waste your money on this until they fix the buttons.... I'm getting mine replaced and selling it before I even open the box.
Jason Lam
Verified Owner
Thursday, Nov 20 2014 (5 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
I've had this charger for a good 2-3 months before the buttons started to not work. I called amain and spoke to a rep asking if this was a known issue or any other problems from other customers and the response was no. I know some others that have this charger as well and there buttons also are having issues is the reason I asked. After contacting Amain about the issue which I sent it in and got a brand new one. A few months later same thing again with the new charger. Be aware there is a problem with this charger! It's great that amain stands behind it but a real pain for racer being out a charger when you want to race.
Jeff Bergen
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Oct 8 2014 (6 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
I previously left a positive review of this charger after the first few uses, however after owning it a few weeks it appears that one side of the charger has quit working entirely. Amain is aware of the issue and will hopefully follow through with a replacement in short order. Not trying to scare anyone away, but keep this in mind.
Ron Ryba
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Jan 28 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
This is a great charger easy to use, easier to use than my old duratrax Ice and way faster. Like the AC/DC feature no power supply needed. Charges two 6500 70c 4s batteries at the time same no problem and every other battery for all my rc cars . I even charged my lithium electric shaver that the charger broke on after it sat uncharged for a year. A main hobbies tech support is the best in the business and Travis and Adam were both patient and very helpful and when I though I had a problem with the charger were ready to replace it as soon as they had verification it was shipped. thanks A Main Hobbies
Brad in Texas
Verified Owner
Sunday, Jan 26 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Picked one of these up last week. Overall happy with it. ~~~~~~~~~~~What I like?~~ It charges 4s high capacity batts quickly with the 100w on-board power supply.~~ Navigation is very straightforward and similar to the HiTec charger, so it was easy for me to move right in and get started charging.~~ Seems plenty durable.~~~~~~~~~~What I didn't like as much?~~The overall look and feel is VERY generic. I realize that the way something looks doesn't necessarily indicate how well it works, which is the case here.~~ The buttons are very loud and 'clicky' when pushed, But, maybe this will help them last longer. Dunno.~~ Spicing it up aesthetically would be a huge plus to me, but not a necessity.~~~~~~~~~~~Overall, I would definitely recommend this charger. It's a no frills charger that does what it's supposed to, and does it well.
Dan Bach
Verified Owner
Saturday, Feb 21 2015 (2 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
i liked the charger for a while,sorta,but then the buttons stopped working,power cord way to short,a main said to wait till it comes off backorder to get a replacement,ok,well what am I to use for weekly racing?not so helpful,i have cheap chargers that have lasted much longer,dissapointed in a main,just another overpriced pile in my opinion
Darren Cardoza
Verified Owner
Saturday, Dec 6 2014 (4 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Have had it for 3 months or so and have had no issues. It's quiet and does what it should.
Francis Lacombe
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Nov 19 2014 (5 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Facile a utiliser , stable , charge rapidement les batteries Protek Suprême, Il inclus tout les accessoires nécessaire a sont fonctionnement . je recommande se chargeur.
Markus R
Verified Owner
Friday, Nov 7 2014 (5 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Very nice well built charger. Works perfectly for my needs (6s heli batteries @ 4.5amps). Comes with everything to get started and they even included Deans plugs ready to go. Thanks Amain.
Mark Merry
Verified Owner
Sunday, Sep 7 2014 (7 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Bought this charger after my dura trax failed after its 3rd use.. Very happy with it, and no issues..
Jared G.
Monday, Jul 28 2014 (9 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Had this charger for about a month now. Great charger, charges my 7200mah 2s batteries at 12a all day long no problem.
Adam Lazo
Verified Owner
Friday, Jun 27 2014 (10 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Simple great fast it just does the job . And it does it well
Jon McLean
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Jun 3 2014 (10 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
A very easy to use charger,I was looking for a simple to use charger and this one fits the bill. Nice to be able to use a power supply or ac power.For the money you can not go wrong.And as always great service.
Rob Gordon
Verified Owner
Sunday, May 4 2014 (11 months ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Great charger I've been charging two 4s packs at same time using 8 amp each battery and have not had any issues what so ever I'm completely amazed at how well a ac type charger can charge these lipo life packs I never would have believed it till I saw it for myself but I'm charging only 4s as of tight now and I haven't used a external power supply yet. And that's Another nice thing with this charger you have that option to use dc power overall great product plus I like the plain look in my experiance if it looks fancy it's overcompensating for the fact it don't have high level performance
Stan The Man
Verified Owner
Thursday, Apr 10 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Very nice charger, have been getting more serious about racing and the charger was the last thing to upgrade and I am glad I picked the 612 Duo. Straight forward easy to use and packs a nice amount of power. I am able to charge batteries a heck of a lot faster and I am not stressing the charger or the batteries. Being able to charge at up to 12 amps is nice. I would definitely recommend this charger to anyone looking to upgrade their current charger.
esteban ronquillo
Verified Owner
Monday, Jan 20 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
This is a great charger. Picked one up to replace my 4 year old ProTek 610 Duo/Super Pro 40 combo because I was tired of lugging around a power supply. The power of this charger suits my needs perfectly. The menu's are easy to navigate, and the overall package just feels solid. 6 amp/100 Watt specs is plenty of power for my 4S packs is more than enough for my 2S packs. I highly recommend this charger to anyone....
Kaboom1175
Saturday, Jan 4 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Charger is great. Such a great upgrade from most of the smaller internal power supply chargers. The increase amps of this charger on both channels is the biggest reason for my purchase.
Dave Howell
Verified Owner
Thursday, Jan 9 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 612 DUO AC" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/12A/100W x 2)
Broke after 2nd use. I could not charge without balance cable unlike Hyperion. This is bad when you need to need to quickly charge a nitro recvr pack. Love the AC power but I have learned if you want a "duo" type charger, do not look for integrated power.