Reviews for ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box [PTK-4500]

Displaying reviews 1 to 13 of 13
Result Pages: 1
Vasiliy Kuzmenko
Verified Owner
Sunday, Apr 13 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
Finally i brought this box into business. Mods required are: - Shimming motormount - Trimming adj. brackets' thickness - Grinding some inner part of top plate in the area of rubber belt - Sanding some material from top of pedal mechanism (or whatever it called) That gave me required 8mm wheel uptravel. So this box is far from "95% ready" state
Richard Hess
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Mar 25 2015 (3 weeks ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
yes just like every starter box ever made if you have a 32mm flywheel or smaller you will have to shim the motor/wheel assembly, very easy to do......this is very close if not the same as the mugen pro spec box that was considered one of the best to have but you had to build the mugen box and was a major pain in the butt, this comes prebuilt!!!! and for less $ !!!! same quality!!!
Jordan Anderson
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Mar 11 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
Good starter box, EXCEPT, the rubber wheel doesn't protrude far enough to reach the flywheel in a lot of cars. With my RC8.2 I was able to shim the motor and rubber wheel assembly up enough inside the starter box that it will just reach the flywheel. However, you can only shim it up a certain amount before the top plate of the starter box will interfere with the rubber wheel. Also, some of the connections broke while shimming so they had to be soldered. Fitting a 4S pack was fairly easy, but did require some trimming. Bottom line, it's an ok box with a bit of work, but make sure you find out if this box will work with your particular car before you buy it.
Brian Rock
Verified Owner
Sunday, Apr 6 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
This has been a great starter box. The flywheel is a little small on our JQ nitro buggy, but I was able to shim up all of the internals in the starter box to bring the wheel up to compensate for the buggy. Very simple to do. I also bought the recommended ProTek 4S Lipo for the box. Trouble free combo!
jake cannon
Verified Owner
Friday, Mar 27 2015 (3 weeks ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
Great box. Completely workable and adjustable to meet your needs. It comes prewired also so that is very helpful. The quality is good; materials, wiring, soldering, etc... I stuck two 2S lipos in it and it had no issues throughout the whole break-in process of my Werks B6. Good job a-main! Edit: you will have to do some working/tinkering on this to get it to mate with your flywheel how you want. I don't understand why all these people are giving bad reviews for having to do so... this is the nature of the hobby. You should have known that even though it says 95% ready, you would have to do some work.. Took me 30 mins of shimming, etc.. not enough to make me want to rate it less than 5 stars.
Jeff Stroup
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Aug 27 2014 (7 months ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
I've got to say this is probably the best starter box on the market currently. The dual 775 motors perform just flawlessly and can turn over any motor whether its broken in or not. Another great feature is the push button to open the top door, no more wrenching on your bump box!!! Overall id recommend this box to anyone because of its quality, performance, and great price.
Robert Young
Wednesday, Jun 4 2014 (10 months ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
I love this starter box!! I don't know why some say the flywheel is too low, just use washers and shim up the mount... You can manipulate anything to suit your needs... This box has tons of power and I have no complaints thus far. ProTek is great!!
Hong Shing Chan
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Jun 4 2014 (10 months ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
great starter box and I use it for my durango truggy. The only complaint is the wheel is too low. But I love that it came with the Dean plug !
Brandon Fritts
Verified Owner
Monday, May 19 2014 (10 months ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
The starter box works great! I did need to make a modification For the Tekno NB48, I had to shim the motor mount 2mm so the starter wheel would hit the fly wheel.
Eric
Verified Owner
Thursday, May 1 2014 (11 months ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
Good starter box for vehicles with very low flywheels, bad for many models (including Tekno NT48 NB48) that need a bit more clearance. I had to heavily modify it (including abandoning the adjustable pieces) to get the wheel to raise enough to hit the the flywheel. Good box, but only for very select vehicles.
James Atkinson
Verified Owner
Monday, Nov 10 2014 (5 months ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
Ive had troubles with mine one since Day 1, Had to raise the Starter Wheel so it could start my Durango Buggy, then I had to a failed motor from the pulley was too tight & recently I had another one went on me buy one of the motor wires had fallen off one motor and putting all of the power into one motor then that failed on me & today got my new motor in the mail and I tried to soilder the wire tabs to the motors then I realised that I had one of the wire the wrong way so I had to solve the problem just occurred, I soilder the wire to the switch on the side, the switch's spring broke so I soildered the wire from the motor to the wire off the springs to activate the motors then both motors failed one me again!!
Mike Bohn
Verified Owner
Friday, Apr 11 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
I absolutely love this starter box! twin motors & well built sold me. I am quickly becoming a fan of ProTek R/C, I love there products. Thanks Amain, you guyz are awesome!
Austin Blair
Friday, Mar 21 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC "SureStart" Professional 1/8 Off-Road Starter Box
This starter box takes out the worry if my my motor is going to start, especially during break in of my motors. No hassle at all. Plus they are light weigh for traveling and durable too. A must have!