Reviews for Team Losi Racing TEN-SCTE 2.0 Competition 4WD Short Course Kit [TLR03000]

Displaying reviews 1 to 10 of 10
Result Pages: 1
Vince
Thursday, Sep 12 2013 (about a year ago)
Team Losi Racing TEN-SCTE 2.0 Competition 4WD Short Course Kit
I'm a big time racer, so this review comes from that point of view. This is a very good truck. If you run outdoors, this thing is money!! Very very stable and easy to drive. It is an improvement over the original SCTE. I'm a big fan of the first SCTE, but it was a bit lumbering, very nose heavy and needed a lot of upgrades. The 2.0 is more nimble, jumps better, and comes with all the upgrades you will need. Doesn't come with tires, but not a big deal. There are a few gotchas that you need to be aware of. Be careful how you assemble the chassis braces. Thread the screws all the way in to the plastic parts first, then screw them in to the metal bars. They are much stronger that way. This kit has no radio box. I used a piece of Lexan to shield it from dirt. It's not a deal breaker, but something to be aware of. I believe that the first run bodies were a bit fragile, but I think they have corrected this. It is a bit challenging to get this truck to corner well on high grip tracks with technical layouts. I run frequently at a small technical indoor clay track, and it's slow speed cornering is awful out of the box. I believe this is correctable and I'm working on tuning it properly right now. Minor flaws to be sure. I highly recommend this truck to racers and intermediate drivers.
David E
Verified Owner
Monday, Mar 31 2014 (about a year ago)
Team Losi Racing TEN-SCTE 2.0 Competition 4WD Short Course Kit
A great race kit - comes almost full option and is very durable. I've raced 3 races with multiple crashes and did not brake any part that would end the heat. The truck can be setup quite easily and there are lots of good setups and tips that the TLR crews has worked out. Just check the Team Losi Racing blog. The parts I recommend to buy with the kit are TLR3100 Aluminum Rear Gearbox Bearing inserts (original plastic part is not so durable) and 2 sets of HPIZ449 screws to use for the 3 differentials, they can be tightened much easier with a 2mm hex and are a direct fit. Overall with the durability of the kit and the easy access to good setups, guides etc. it is really not hard to be fast with it ;)
arm2storm
Sunday, Feb 2 2014 (about a year ago)
Team Losi Racing TEN-SCTE 2.0 Competition 4WD Short Course Kit
Excellent truck, a lot better than the 1.0 as far as slop and quality. I was running a tekno and came back to the Losi. Lighter, faster and better looking truck. Only thing that sucks is the diff screws are too small and will strip if proper quality hex driver is not used.
Kenny Lutz
Wednesday, Jul 17 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Team Losi Racing TEN-SCTE 2.0 Competition 4WD Short Course Kit
This is a awesome truck. I have drove both the tekno and the 2.0. I feel the 2.0 is a little better out of the box then the tekno but both are great trucks. I would by it again in a heart beat, it has all the necessary upgrades you need to be at the top of the class.
Eric Neill
Wednesday, Mar 13 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Team Losi Racing TEN-SCTE 2.0 Competition 4WD Short Course Kit
I bought mine from Horizon a week ago (sorry A-main). It hooks up very nice on the track right out of the box! There is a few issues with the design though. The side rail next to the motor gets in the way of removing the motor easily. I had to grind down the plastic rail a bit to even get the motor (540 can) to fit in properly. Very small issue for a racer but kind of annoying for a $469 truck. All in all it's a beast on the track an I would recommend buying it.
Gusztav Olah
Tuesday, Jun 16 2015 (2 months ago)
Team Losi Racing TEN-SCTE 2.0 Competition 4WD Short Course Kit
Best kit I ever owned. After almost 2 years of racing only parts had to be replaced are: - body :-D - anti-flex chassis stiffner (from chassis to gearbox) ball connector yeah, that's it. It is just non-destructible, and drives like a dream (out of the box). Very responsive on setup changes. Easy to drive, easy to setup, additional tunings are just nice to have, but not necessary...
Eric M
Verified Owner
Sunday, Apr 13 2014 (about a year ago)
Team Losi Racing TEN-SCTE 2.0 Competition 4WD Short Course Kit
I am in love with this thing. Disclaimer: I am not a surface RCer in general, as I come from helicopters and fixed wing aircraft mostly. That being said, this truck (and the micro brushless sct) has caused me to become enamored with this side of the hobby. I built the kit in two nights, but I did have to run to my local losi shop to buy a piece of the front differential housing, as it did not have a groove for the o-ring. It was cheap, but a nuisance nonetheless. I made a cover for the pinion/spur gears because the front wheels kick pebbles into them. Otherwise I have been jumping this thing at the local dirt bike track, taking it on dirt roads, paved roads (careful it will traction roll), and the rc track. It is an absolute blast and puts a grin on my face every time.
Christopher Perry
Sunday, Dec 15 2013 (about a year ago)
Team Losi Racing TEN-SCTE 2.0 Competition 4WD Short Course Kit
The kit was somewhat difficult to assemble. I had trouble with the front and center differential cases binding when tightening all the screws. Solved the problem with a hobby knife. With that said I love the truck. It is great out of the box. I had never driven a SCT before and was amazed at how easy it is to drive. I'd highly recommend buying this truck.
Richard Boissonneault
Thursday, Aug 8 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Team Losi Racing TEN-SCTE 2.0 Competition 4WD Short Course Kit
Verry good machine, add the combo RX8/PRO4-4600kv its gooooood.
Miles Rosser
Monday, May 27 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Team Losi Racing TEN-SCTE 2.0 Competition 4WD Short Course Kit
Owner of the original scte and I will Likely never buy another Losi truck. It was Awsome at first, but these trucks are designed to take all of your money. I know this 2.0 does come with all the upgrades needed but losi still finds a way to suck you dry. Ive driven the 2.0 and the Tekno sc410 and the Tekno BLOWS the 2.0 away. With the Tekno you get way better drive shafts bigger and better shocks a better more reliable steering system and an overall more durable truck. Not to mention the better designed truck is cheaper than this money pit. I was disappointed with this truck I thought Losi was going to a little better than just including the TLR tuning kit, a new chassis layout (same as the MIP kit) and some non leaky diffs. Those considering this truck Get a tekno its the king of 4x4 short course atm.