Reviews for Traxxas Slash 4X4 LCG "Platinum" Brushless 1/10 4WD Short Course Truck [TRA6804R]

Displaying reviews 1 to 6 of 6
Result Pages: 1
Kevin Sorensen
Verified Owner
Wednesday, May 22 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 LCG "Platinum" Brushless 1/10 4WD Short Course Truck
I had an HCG Slash 4x4 when they first came out and sold it a while back. Needless to say I missed the reliability, so I bought this little guy just to have around for fun and the occasional sportsman race. The LCG chassis and GTR shocks are a HUGE improvement over the initial release of the slash 4x4. It handles exponentially better and the shocks are pretty close to perfect stock, just set your ride height, install the included center differential, and you can actually compete with this new Slash. Ok, maybe you want to invest in some real tires, but everyone knows how bad the stock tires are for race traction. Good for bashing though. For the beginner to intermediate, this is a great truck to bash during the week and race on weekends. The pro would want to make a few more changes and tune it so it can still be competitive with the purpose built race trucks. Also, all the hardware is metric instead of annoyingly having mixed metric/SAE like some other silly trucks.
Greg
Monday, Aug 12 2013 (about a year ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 LCG "Platinum" Brushless 1/10 4WD Short Course Truck
It is possible to race with this truck. I bought it because I wanted a 4wd sc and I already had a few Traxxas cars so parts were available. I added a fan to the esc, new tires and swapped out the slipper for the center diff. The motor has just enough power to get the truck going but don't expect to be the fastest guy at the track. I switched the diff oils to Traxxas 30k/50k/10k and it behaves itself around the bends with minimum under steer. I've had the truck since late April '13 and have only broken 1 piece while racing every weekend. A rear shaft broke at the knuckle in a mash up in a turn. It's a great truck. It's competitive out of the box but its not as fast as the losi or tekno. It can be just as good as them if you swap out the motor, esc, all drive shafts and learn to drive. I have no idea how it does bashing, I've never tried. I'd assume its alright there as well.
Sam
Verified Owner
Saturday, May 31 2014 (about a year ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 LCG "Platinum" Brushless 1/10 4WD Short Course Truck
This is my first traxxas, and i must say, im impressed, the reliability, durability and performance is more than i ever expected. I used it to bash at my local park and i really love it, very fast, and great on jumps. The stock tires pair nice with this car if your bashing or want to drift on short grass at high speed. Chuck in a 3s lipo and watch this thing go sideways on short grass, really fun to watch and drive. The extra's that come with the car are a plus, really love the tools that are included, and customization of the shell is a plus, you get a heap load of decals as well This car is for the pro and the beginner, 5 stars.
Mark Yang
Verified Owner
Thursday, Apr 30 2015 (2 months ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 LCG "Platinum" Brushless 1/10 4WD Short Course Truck
These pics should be updated. Overall, it was a pretty good deal!
Alex Chen
Wednesday, Jul 30 2014 (11 months ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 LCG "Platinum" Brushless 1/10 4WD Short Course Truck
I've purchased the first genertion Slash 4x4 Platinum Edition when it was out. I had no intention of ever racing so I wanted to get as tough as a truck as I could that was also waterproof which the Platinum Edition fit the bill as it had some upgrades already done to it. I kept it for about 2 years and ran it only on 3 with the same stock electronics. I got tired of it and a buddy of mine had an extra Kyosho Inferno GT1 Subaru WRC rally car body. I was the first person to convert the SCT into a rally beast. I had a blast with it especially 1/8 rally tires setup on a short course chassis that I internally limited. Eventually I sold it and missed the "I don't care if I wreck it feeling" so I got a good deal from my buddy who owns a LHS here in Houston. Sold all the junk Traxxas electronics this time and threw in a Castle MMP SCT edition along with the 4 pole 3800kv beast. Ran the only servo I had at the time which was a 5645mg. It was fine I wasn't going to need super fast turning I was only going to bash and jump. I figured Traxxas still never upgraded the things I broke on the first generation Platinum Edition: "Titanium" hinge pins are not true titanium....you can bend them in half with two pliers. Look for Lunsford for replacement of u do a lot of high jumps. I also found both differentials were filled with like a half grease half oil substance! What happened Traxxas?! After seeing all that I tore the entire rig down to make sure I Was not missing bearings, shims, screws, or anything that would cause disaster son. I immediately upgraded all A arms to RPM, all hinge pins to Lunsford, changed motor mount to the aluminum King Headz mount with a larger bearing, bought new basher trencher tires as well a proline's twist mount system and bought a new Silverado body. Looks like Traxxas is back in my life LOL.
Jody McIntyre
Tuesday, Aug 13 2013 (about a year ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 LCG "Platinum" Brushless 1/10 4WD Short Course Truck
This SCT is great for kids or just bashing. The parts are super low qulity. If your excepting to race this truck invest your ca$h in a Tekno 410, or Team associated factory team 4x4 kit. The Tekno 410 makes the slash platinum look like a walmart toy.